News Archive

Featured Stories


More Stories

Kenichi Tanaka, MD, Professor, Director of Cardiac Anesthesiology, has been invited to join the Editorial Board of the Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia (JCVA).

Wendy K. Bernstein, MD, MBA, Seema P. Deshpande, MBBS , and Patrick N. Odonkor, MB, ChB, have been selected by The American Board of Anesthesiology to serve as examiners for the American Board of Anesthesiology's Part 2 Examination.

Congratulations to Ron E. Samet, MD, Director, Program in Acute Pain and Regional Anesthesia and his team of University of Maryland bioengineering students (Shawn Greenspan and Stefanie Cohen) on winning First Place ($2000) and the Audience Choice Award ($500) in the Pitch Dingman Competition at the Robert H. Smith School of Business Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship on Novermber 20, 2014. Their product, the Sono-assist Monitor, was invented and designed by Dr. Samet and engineered by the students to continuously monitor blood flow in low perfusion and cardiac arrest states.

4 Department of Anesthesiology Physicians Named
2014 Top Docs by Baltimore Magazine: 
Anesthesiology: Mark DiMino, MD, Obi Udekwu, MBBS and Edwin Villamater, MD 
Intensivists/Critical Care: Peter Rock, MD, MBA, FCCM  

Congratulations: Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, Faresha Sims, DNAP, CRNA - August Employee of the Month - Department of Anesthesiology  

The Program in Regional Anesthesia at the University of Maryland School of Medicine was featured in the Spring/Summer 2014 edition of University of Maryland Rounds Click to read “New Regional Anesthesia Pain Service Improves Pain Management”