Bookmark and Share

About Us

About Us

The Division of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine was directed by John H. Sadler, MD from 1972-1994. Since 1994, Matthew R. Weir, MD has been the Director of the Division. In this period of time, the program has grown from eight to forty faculty members.

The clinical program includes the management of patients with end-stage renal disease, including both hemo and peritoneal dialysis. The chronic kidney disease program has numerous clinics, both at the University of Maryland Medical Center and the Baltimore VA Medical Center.

The Division participates in a large multi-organ transplant program and has multiple services within both the University of Maryland Medical Center, the Baltimore VA Medical Center, and the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center.

The division also has several research centers including: The Baltimore Center for the study of Polycystic Kidney Disease, directed by Terry Watnick, MD, The Laboratory of Molecular Physiology, directed by Pedro Jose, MD, PhD, and the Early Renal Insufficiency and Safe Kidney Programs, directed by Jeffrey C. Fink, MD,MS. The Transplant Clinical Research Program, directed by Abdolreza Haririan, MD, MPH, in conjunction with the director of the Division of Transplantation, Jonathan Bromberg, MD, PhD, and the Renal Physiology Program, including Thomas Pallone, MD, Edward Weinman, MD, in conjunction with the Department of Physiology scientists, Paul Welling, MD, Mordecai Blaustein, MD, and James C. Wade, PhD.

The division currently has 16 active RO1 and VA Merit Review grants and has site Pis for CRIC, ALTOLD, and the VA Nephron-D studies. There are also multiple RO1 funded ancillary studies and plans for submission for a T32 training grant in May of 2013.