Bookmark and Share

SOM Festival of Science 2016

Learn More:


Thursday, November 10, 2016
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.


SMC Campus Center, Elm Ballrooms A & B

Scientific Advisory Council:

This internationally acclaimed and distinguished scientists and council members include:

Rita Colwell, PhD
Professor and Chair, US Life Sciences at UMCP
Former Director, National Science Foundation
2006 National Medal of Science

Carol Greider, PhD
Professor & Chair, Molecular Biology at JHU
2009 Nobel Prize Winner for Medicine
Member, IOM

Philip Needleman, PhD
President/CEO, St. Louis Science Center
Member, NAS & IOM
Former President of Searle R&D

Ralph Snyderman, M.D.
Chancellor Emeritus, Duke University & James B. Duke Professor of Medicine
Former President & CEO, Duke University Health System
Former Chair, AAMC
Member, IOM

For More Information:

Please contact
SOM Office of Public Affairs

Cancer Research, “Translational Discoveries to Next Generation Treatments”

Festival 2016 PDF Image

Click Here for a PDF of the Festival of Science Announcement  

This activity has been approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. 

Accreditation Statement
The University of Maryland School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.


E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and
Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Keynote Speaker


Victoria Richon, PhD
President and Chief Scientific Officer,
Ribon Therapeutics 

Festival of Science - Agenda 11/10/16


Dean E. Albert Reece Welcome


Dr. Victoria Richon (Keynote) 


Audience Q&A with Dr. Richon


Kevin Cullen, MD,  SOM Cancer Research Overview


Eduardo Davila, PhD, Tumor Immunology and Immunotherapy Overview


Tonya Webb, PhD, Scientific Presentation


Q&A with Scientific Advisory Council


Short Break


David Weber, PhD, Molecular and Structural Biology Overview


Fey Rasool, PhD, Scientific Presentation


Q&A With Scientific Advisory Council


Toni Antalis, PhD, Education


Nick Ambulos,  PhD, Shared Services


Q&A with Scientific Advisory Council




Joanne Dorgan, PhD, MPH, Population Science Overview


Susan Dorsey, PhD Scientific Presentation


Q&A with Scientific Advisory Council


Maria Baer, MD, Experimental Therapeutics Overview


Zeljko Vujaskovic, MD, PhD,  Scientific Presentation


Q&A with Scientific Advisory Council


Amy Fulton, PhD, Hormone Responsive Cancers Overview


Minhaj Siddiqui, MD,  Scientific Presentation


Q&A with Scientific Advisory Council


Dean Reece Closing Remarks



Please direct all inquiries to Mr. Kevin Enright, Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives