Bookmark and Share

The School of Medicine Annual Gala

Gala 2015 logo

Good afternoon.

The past several weeks, and certainly the past 24 hours, have been particularly difficult for the city of Baltimore and its citizens. The members of our academic community, like so many around the city, state, and nation, have been greatly distressed by the turmoil occurring in our city. The University of Maryland School of Medicine has been, and remains, keenly aware of the important role that it can play as our city begins to heal.

After much deliberation, the leadership of the School of Medicine has determined that we will not hold the annual School of Medicine Gala this Saturday, May 2nd. The safety of our alumni, friends, faculty, staff, and students is of the utmost importance. With a state of emergency and a
city-wide curfew in effect, it has become clear that we should be focused on the initial steps of Baltimore’s recovery.

During the past year, the School of Medicine has accomplished a number of important scientific and medical breakthroughs.
We have much to celebrate, and, in time, we will find the appropriate venue to share news of our most important achievements.
We thank our many generous sponsors, whose support makes this annual event possible.

We deeply apologize for any inconvenience this decision causes to you and your guests.
We are grateful for the support, patience and understanding of everyone and look forward
to working with all of you as we move forward as a community.



Brian J. DeFilippis
Associate Dean for Development and
Special Assistant to the Dean
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Office of Development

View the long list of Maryland businesses and organizations that sponsored the School of Medicine Gala in 2015. >>

Gala Memories

Dean Reece at 2010 Gala

If you have further questions regarding sponsorship opportunities, please contact:

Heather Kavanagh