Bookmark and Share


External Advisory Committee

With the award of the new contract, a new external advisory committee of research scientists, tissue bank experts, and patient advocates was established. The committee provides semi-annual general review of the Bank's function, guidance regarding its policies and procedures, and the review of distribution protocols and determinations of particularly valuable and sought after samples so as to advance research and the Bank's mission.


Gerald D. Fischbach, M.D.
Scientific Director of the Simons Foundation

Allan Jones, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer of the Allen Institute for Brain Science

Joel E. Kleinman, M.D., Ph.D..
Section Chief, Clinical Brain Disorders Branch, NIMH

Mark E. Sobel, M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Office of the American Society for Investigative Pathology

Vicky Holets Whittemore, Ph.D.
Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer of the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance

Internal Steering Committee

The internal steering committee evaluates requests for tissues. The criteria for approval are based on the quality of the proposal, experience of the investigator in the area of the proposed research, curriculum vitae and funding for the proposed research.


Kathleen Currey, M.D.
Division of Pediatric Neurology, Department of Pediatrics

Asaf Keller, Ph.D.
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology.

Jessica Mong, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology

H. Ronald Zielke, Ph.D.
Division of Pediatric Research, Department of Pediatrics