• AnesHeader01 
  • AnesHeader02 
  • AnesHeader03 
  • AnesHeader04 
  • AnesHeader05 
  • AnesHeader06 
  • AnesHeader07 
  • AnesHeader08 
  • AnesHeader09 
  • AnesHeader10 
  • AnesHeader11 
  • AnesHeader12 
  • AnesHeader13 
  • AnesHeader14 
  • AnesHeader15 
  • AnesHeader16 
  • AnesHeader17 
  • AnesHeader18 
  • AnesHeader19 
  • AnesHeader20 
  • AnesHeader21 
  • AnesHeader22 
  • AnesHeader23 
  • AnesHeader24 
  • AnesHeader25 
  • AnesHeader26 
  • AnesHeader27 
  • AnesHeader28 
  • AnesHeader29 
  • AnesHeader30 
  • AnesHeader31 
  • AnesHeader32 
  • AnesHeader33 
  • AnesHeader34 
  • AnesHeader37 
  • AnesHeader38 
  • AnesHeader39 
  • AnesHeader41 
  • New-Header01 
  • New-Header02 
  • New-Header03 
  • New-Header04 
  • New-Header05 
  • New-Header06 
  • New-Header07 
  • HeaderOct01 
  • HeaderOct02 
  • HeaderOct03 
  • HeaderOct04 
  • HeaderOct05 
  • Anes-event-hd-01 
  • Anes-event-hd-02 
  • Anes-event-hd-03 
  • Anes-event-hd-04 
  • Anes-event-hd-05 
  • Anes-event-hd-06 
Image Gallery by WOWSlider.com v4.8m

Anesthesiology Overview

Welcome New Faculty: Clinical Assistant Professor Curtis Copeland, MD, and Instructor Justin Richards, MD, as well as Assistant Professors Brittney Williams, MD, Michelle Kim, MD and Elizabeth Hankinson, MD             Congratulations to our recently promoted faculty members: Shiming Yang, PhD – Research Associate to Assistant Professor; David Loane, PhD, Bogdan Stoica, MD and Caron Hong, MD, MSc – Assistant Professor to Associate Professor; Maureen McCunn, MD, MIPP, FCCM – Associate Professor to Professor; and Colin Mackenzie, MB, ChB, FRCA, FCCM – Professor to Professor Emeritus


Physician Anesthesiologist – New Trauma Video


The Department of Anesthesiology is committed to excellence in clinical service, education, research and faculty development.

In addition to providing services at the Baltimore VA Medical Center, our department has multiple divisions at the University of Maryland Medical Center:


Three divisions are at associated institutions:

Our research division's faculty conducts research in clinical anesthesiology, acute lung injury, neurodegeneration and neuroprotection, human factors, telemedicine, and basic respiratory physiology.

We also collaborate with researchers at UMMC, the R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center and the Baltimore Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

News & Announcements

Congratulations to Paul Bigeleisen, MD, who received the prestigious Bruce Scott Award by the Regional Anesthesiology Division of the Royal College of Anaesthetists.

Congratulations to Alan Faden, MD, who was appointed as the inaugural Scientific Co-Director for the Center for Sports Medicine, Health and Human Performance (CSMHHP), a University of Maryland, College Park and University of Maryland, Baltimore initiative to promote research, education, and clinical care to improve the health of athletes and physically active individuals across their lifespan.

Congratulations to Michael Mazzeffi, MD, recipient of a two-year Society for Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists/IARS Starter Grant award.

Congratulations to Megan Anders, MD, who has earned the designation of “Certified Professional in Patient Safety” (CPPS), a credential recognized by the National Patient Safety Foundation.

Congratulations to Samuel Galvagno, DO, PhD, for being selected for the Physician Colleague Award in the School of Nursing.

Congratulations to our 2016 Residency and Fellowship Graduation awards recipients: Darin Zimmerman, MD, Golden Apple Award; Ruth Neary, MD, Dripps Award; and Jonathan Chow, MD, Resident Critical Care Award.

We are pleased to honor the dedication and commitment of the following faculty members as they reach milestone years of service in the department:

5 Years of Service

Andra DiStefano, MD
Ashanpreet Grewal, MD
Caron Hong, MD MSc
Bingren Hu, PhD
Jeremy Kaplowitz, MD
Teresa Niemiec, DO
Edward Norris, MD, MBA, FAHA
Boris Sabirzhanov, PhD 

15 Years of Service

Mary Hyder, MD
Tibor Kristian, PhD
Eric Shepard, MD, FCCM 

20 Years of Service

Yvette Fouche-Weber, MD 

25 Years of Service

Anne Savarese, MD 

News Archive 


Giving to the Department

Learn more 

Martin Helrich
Professor & Chair

Our Annual Report

 Read it Here  |  Past Reports