Bookmark and Share

Bruce C. Stuart

Academic Title: Professor
Primary Appointment: School of Pharmacy
Secondary Appointments: Epidemiology & Public Health

Personal History:

Bruce Stuart is an economist and health services researcher. Dr. Stuart received his economics training at Whitman College and Washington State University.  He began his career in health services research as an economic analyst and later Director of the Health Research Division in the Michigan Medicaid program in the early 1970s. Leaving state government for academe, Dr. Stuart taught health economics, finance, and research methods at the University of Massachusetts and The Pennsylvania State University.  In 1997 he joined the faculty of the University Of Maryland School Of Pharmacy as the Parke-Davis endowed Chair in Geriatric Pharmacotherapy and was selected as a Maryland Eminent Scholar for his work in geriatric drug use.

Dr. Stuart is an experienced research investigator having directed more than 60 grants and contracts for sponsors including AHRQ, NIA, CMS, ASPE, state governments, foundations, and private firms. Among his recently completed projects are a national study of prescription utilization patterns of Medicare beneficiaries with common chronic diseases for the Commonwealth Fund, a GSK study of the effectiveness of influenza vaccinations of Medicare beneficiaries, a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grant to study the relationship between health behaviors and future Medicare spending, and a CMS contract to profile medication regimens of Medicare beneficiaries with diabetes using Part D data.

His current research includes grants from NACDS to evaluate eligibility criteria for medication therapy management (MTM) services offered by Part D plans, a GSK project to evaluate the impact of Part D cost sharing on medication adherence and Medicare spending, and a PhRMA study to explore reason why LIS recipients have higher rates of brand prescribing compared to Part D beneficiaries who do not receive the low-income subsidy. Dr. Stuart was appointed to the Congressional Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) in 2007 and completed his term in April, 2012.  In 2013 he received the George Archambault award, the highest honor bestowed by the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists for outstanding contributions to senior care pharmacy.