Anesthesiology Scholars Program

University of Maryland Anesthesiology Scholars Program 

  • The department will provide a $15,000/year stipend to a physician who commits to a 2-year fellowship. The stipend is provided for the duration of the three clinical anesthesia years and the two fellowship years.
  • The two-year fellowship will combine a clinical year and a research year.
  • The clinical year may be selected from ACGME or well-established non-ACGME one-year fellowships. The trainee is expected to select and apply to the clinical fellowship, utilizing the usual application time-lines.
  • Anesthesiology faculty will mentor the research project.  The trainee has the option to initiate the research during residency, as long as ABA requirements are met.
  • After successful completion of the 2-year fellowship, the trainee is expected to remain on the faculty of the University of Maryland Department of Anesthesiology for a minimum of two years. 
  • The Anesthesiology Scholars Program is open to all residency candidates who apply to our 3-year or 4-year residency programs. The application deadline is January 31, 2015. The Scholarship Oversight Committee will review applications. Notification via e-mail of conditional acceptance will occur on February 6, 2015.
  • Candidates must match at the University of Maryland in order to enter the University of Maryland Anesthesiology Scholars Program.
  • Application process:
    • Submit required documents (below) via email to Anesthesiology Residency & Fellowship Coordinator:
    • Required documents:
    • CV, including previous scholarly activity
    • Essay describing the reason(s) for applying, previous experience in research, and proposed field(s) of study.
    • For any questions, contact Dr. Mary Njoku, Vice Chair for Education, at 410-328-1239.